January 7th&8th/Greeting the Unknown

When I began this project, I didn’t realize how much it would impact me. Since I am not all that technically proficient in computer stuff, I don’t do a lot of searching around the web. Oh, I e-mail friends and family, but I made a decision early on not to go on Facebook or Twitter as I felt they would bring more angst than promise. I also learned that the older generation is not quite as smart at seeing some of the scams that abound on the web such as fake PayPal letters, etc. Having made that decision, it was a step out in faith just deciding to do this ‘thought’ process online…which is why I am amazed at how many unknown people have signalled that they may have read my words. Evidently, WordPress lets me known when someone reads my thoughts and then gives me the opportunity to read theirs should I so choose. Please know that I do go on and read your posts even if I may not converse or sign up and I appreciate your sentiments on how God is working in your life.

I have decided that weekend posts will be together as we all need to take a day off–(after all, if it is good enough for God, it is good enough for me!

After seeing the news yesterday, I went to the Psalms this morning. I wandered onto Psalm 119: 113-120. I hate vain thoughts: but thy law do I love. Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in that word. Depart from me, ye evildowers: for I will keep the commandments of my God. Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope. Hold thou me up, and I shall be safe: and I will have respect unto thy statutes continually. Thou hast trodden down all them that err from thy statues: for their deceit is falsehood. Thou puttest away all the wicked of the earth like dross: therefore I love thy testimonies. My flesh trembleth for fear of thee: and I am afraid of thy judgments.

Every day we wake up expecting things to go along like usual in life…until it doesn’t. It snows when rain was predicted. A car veers into our path. A simple doctor visit becomes complicated.

Life interferes because we fail to realize that every bit of our lives fall within God’s plan. Sometimes, we don’t understand His plan. Many times when tragedy strikes like it did yesterday, we don’t comprehend why God allows such evil to exist and why bad things happen to good people. It is difficult to fathom how this young man could commit such evil. It is difficult to come to terms with the type of mental sickness he may have. It is downright hard to understand how hearts can be hardened to the point where taking of lives becomes matter-of-face for ANYONE.

I have learned that our only hope of understanding is to pray to live long enough to see what ‘goes around comes around.’ Sometimes, we never witness the punishment God metes out. Other times, we see how a person’s actions impact their life even if it takes time for us to witness these events.

In the end, we need to pray and cling to our faith even as we mourn things we do not comprehend.

God’s judgment WILL come. Each of us was given a conscience for a reason…so that we would confess our sins and ask for forgiveness. All should tremble before the Lord.

Leave a Reply

