January 9, 2017/Might vs. Mite

I think it all began with the so-called ‘reality’ television shows. Suddenly, I no longer found myself interested in many moves, tv shows, stars, etc. Something about the process of make-believe was suddenly axed.

I chose the movies I attended with care. I avoid horror because I can watch the news and what some people do to other people gives me enough nightmares. I avoided most R-Rated movies because I was uncomfortable with the amount of swearing, sex, or violence they chose to incorporate. Even some of the PG-13 movies left me feeling like  I belonged in the previous century. Once they began lifting the veil on pretend and going deeper into the realm of reality, Hollywood lost me. There is a fine line between your personal belief and forcing your opinion on others. As someone who believes passionately in certain ideals, I learned in college that ‘drawing your line’ comes with a price.

It was a Communications class. We were instructed to read THE SENSUOUS WOMAN. I refused. I took my ‘gripe’ to the head of the department. I was told that I could refuse but the professor had the right to assign whatever he/she liked. The consequence was I was given a ‘C’ in the class. I was lucky it wasn’t an ‘F’ and I think it well could have been had I not raised such a fuss! I learned a valuable lesson about ‘standing for what I believed’ that term.

Do I regret my stand?

No!

But I learned that there is a time, a place, AND a way to hold fast on principle…which leads me to what I thought about during my reading this morning Mark 12: 41-44: And Jesus sat over against the treasury, and beheld how the people cast money into the treasury: and many that were rich cast in much. And there came a certain poor widow, and she threw in two mites, which make a farthing. And he called unto him his disciples, and saith unto them, Verily I say unto you, That this poor widow hath cast more in, than all they which have cast into the treasury: For all they did cast in of their abundance; but she of her want did cast in all that she had, even all her living.

It is easy to ‘opinionate’ when one has fame and fortune. It is easy to take a stand when you know you will lose nothing. How much harder is it to stand when you are personally affected? When you throw in EVERY BIT OF MONEY YOU HAVE on FAITH?

When those with fortune, popularity, and beauty, swear off their money, their make-up, their followers, their lifestyles and walk the walk, I can listen and agree to disagree with them in fellowship if we have different opinions. I just don’t take well to those who think I should listen or fawn on someone’s opinions (on both political sides of the spectrum) because of who they are.

Frankly, friends WHY SHOULD WE CARE WHAT OTHERS THINK?

I’m finding it difficult to be told by someone who hasn’t walked in the ordinary world what to believe…and that includes Pastors, teachers, politicians, professors, etc. Some, (make that most) live in ivory towers. Pastors who have never experienced working ‘in’ the world, having lived and gone to school in nothing but ‘Christian’ schools or colleges. Teachers and professors who never work–just settle into academic lives, get their PhD’s and remain immune to living in real society. Politicians born into political families who do little but run for office.

I have lived paycheck to paycheck. And, I have lived blessed where I know I don’t have to account for every little cent.

Guess what? It is what GOD thinks that is important. So when making up our minds what to believe is right or wrong, it would be a good idea to turn to Him for guidance.

God see things from all sides. It gives Him a clear view of our hearts and minds. There is a time fast coming when we will have to choose our side according to His commandments. Will YOU be able to throw in all your mites against the MIGHT that may be against you? When you realize that your grade will be lowered? When your very livelihood may be endangered? When the rabble of a ‘mob’ may put you in fear of  your life? When standing up for Jesus may mean entering an arena to be killed while others chant for your death?

It is easy to say, “We will.”

I choose to say, “PLEASE GOD, THAT I WILL…” for I know that His side will be right.

 

 

Leave a Reply

