February 20, 2017/Three Little Words-Part 1

I’ll bet you thought this entry would be about love.

Fooled you!

Yes, I will be talking about the most ‘famous’ of three little words eventually, but I have some other ‘three little word’ phrases to deal with first.

Today’s topic will be Psalm 38. Here, David is, as usual, pouring his heart out to God. Psalm 38:1&2-O Lord, rebuke me not in thy wrath: neither chasten me in thy hot displeasure. For thine arrows stick fast in me, and thy hand presseth me sore.  38:4-For mine iniquities are gone over my head: as an heavy burden they are too heavy for me. 38: 10 & 11-My heart panteth, my strength faileth me: as for the light of mine eyes, it also is gone from me. My lovers and my friends stand aloof from my sore; and my kinsmen stand afar off.

David down. I mean, he is really, really in a state. Whatever sin he committed, is weighing heavily on his conscience. How can he possibly pull himself up out of this hole of despair? What can he possibly do. Perhaps, he wrote this after he realized his conspiracy to murder Uriah? Or maybe after he committed adultry with Bathsheba? Or, was it after David sinned by numbering the people in 1 Chronicles 21 after which he had to choose which punishment (famine, death, or pestilence) he would rain down upon Israel?

Whatever the case, David utilizes three little words to redeem himself in Psalm 38:18-For I will declare mine iniquity; I will be sorry for my sin.

I AM SORRY.

Why are those three little words so difficult? History is full of people whose life would have changed had they humbled themselves enough to use those three little words. We seem to fall into bed around 10pm every night. We usually turn on Antenna TV to watch the beginning of the old Johnny Carson shows. You don’t have to watch many of these old shows to see him poke fun at whatever President was in power. All of them had their scandals and problems. What is thought provoking is that they mimic the exact same problems that what we are dealing with now.

Nothing changes!

How many of these problems could be solved by kings, Presidents, and every day people simply admitting that they were wrong and saying, “I am sorry.”

No matter where we are in our walk with God, we need to take stock of our life and admit to our mistakes. Never be too proud to say, ‘I am sorry.”

Those who admit mistakes and humble themselves before the Lord and others will sleep much sounder and walk with a lighter step…..

Tune in tomorrow to see my next entry on Three Little Words we would do well to think about!

Leave a Reply

