March 2, 2017-Where’s the Beef?

Those old enough to remember will know that title refers to a popular commercial which had a little old lady complaining that when she removed the bun from her hamburger, she couldn’t find enough beef on it to eat!

I thought of that the other day when I realized that I hate to cook hamburgers and pancakes.

I love to eat them, but cooking them…? Cooking both of them is an art.

You see, both require a matter of timing. You have to wait until the bubbles start popping for the pancakes, and you have to judge the correct time to flip for the burgers. Too early, and you get a burger or pancake that is raw in the middle. Too late, and you have a singed, dry object that would be put to better use as a frisbee.

Cooking, like life, is all about timing…and sometimes, that requires patience.

Ah, the dreaded ‘P’ word.

Patience.

If there is one thing modern society avoids it is patience. We want it NOW.

Instantaneous gratification.

James 5: 7& 8-Be patient therefore, brethren, unto the coming of the Lord. Behold, the husbandman waiteth for the precious fruit of the earth, and halth long patience for it, until he receive the early and latter rain. Be ye also patient; stablish your hearts: for the coming of the Lord draweth nigh.

When I was younger, I would often hear pastors speak on the return of Christ.

They couldn’t wait for Him to come back.

I could.

I wanted to fall in love. I wanted to get married. Then I wanted a child. I wanted to see her grow up, fall in love, get married, and bequeath me grandchildren.

Now, I want extra time. Time with my husband. Time to see my grandkids grow up, fall in love, get married, have their own children.

For many years, I thought myself sinful and selfish. It seemed all the ‘good’ Christians were far holier than I was when they said, “Amen,” to the thought of Christ returning soon. They had it all together spiritually. (Or at least, they appeared to have it all together!)

Now, I have realized that I am not selfish…I’m HUMAN.

While I long for Christ’s return, I can forgive myself for my human weakness. There are times when I see ‘man’s inhumanity to man’ and I find myself yearning for God to hurry up and Fix things. I want to see the Lord coming to resolve and put an end to Satan’s reign…even if it means that I will give up pretending that I have any control in the life of my loved ones.

Time brings a maturity to all of us. We come to Christ as babes–toddling to Him with the precarious steps of a toddler eager to explore these new ideas and promises that He shows us of the ways of God. We read His handbook, the Bible, and seek to know Him further through prayer and study in order to refine our nature.

Eventually, we perceive that His patience for us, and to us, is a gift. His timing is perfection. We are not to know when He will come again for to do so might change the way we see things in life.

Jesus knows that I’m human. He probably rejoices with me as I walk my path of love for my family. He understands that I am torn…for He, too, was once walking the path of humanity torn by His obedience to God’s plan, knowing the final steps He would have to take to complete His task on the cross. He patiently continued onward.

Humans ripen like fruit in many ways. We are all small seeds that need planting. We require food, sunlight, and rain to ripen to full sweetness. Jesus allows us this timing and will pick us when we are at the peak of perfection.

I have learned to be joyful when I think of Christ’s return…for I know that He will arrange my life so that I will be at just the right stage when He either takes me home or comes again!

Leave a Reply

