March 10, 2017-What We Leave Behind

A year or so we suffered a huge loss of property. Without warning, a storm hit and destroyed part of our home. Thankfully, we managed to shelter in another part of our house.

After the storm departed, we were faced with going through our belongings and salvaging what could be kept. It was a tiring, often heartbreaking, task. It is difficult to let go of things that you treasure.

One of the items destroyed was my family Bible.

This Bible dated back to the mid-1800’s. Looking at the leather cover that now water-stained and covered with moss almost brought me to tears. When I opened it pages disintergrated beneath my fingers.

Total loss…at least, that is what I thought at first. When I turned to the pages listing births and deaths, however, I found that they had survived intact as the pages that they had been written on were made of sturdier stuff. I grabbed a razor blade and managed to secure the basis of my family history.

I have many other Bibles but that was the sole listing of my family’s births and deaths so, to me, while I grieved the loss of that Bible, I rejoiced that God had allowed me to save an important part.

The recording of birth and death is important. It lists the person legally entitled to property or rank. Romans 8:14-17-For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry,  Abba, Father. The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: And if children, then heirs; heirs of God and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.

Once, before we sinned, we were true children of God…created by Him. As perfection cannot be united with imperfection, we were then lost. Accepting Jesus’ blood sacrifice as perfect God-man united, we have now returned full circle as God’s adopted children.

Now as we cry out to God, the Holy Spirit bears this witness. We have now become joint-heirs with Jesus to stand with Him before the perfection of God.

If we suffer here on earth, we are to remember how he suffered first for us.

We are now listed on those birth/death pages.

Jesus left behind more than just His life and teachings…He left God behind to come bring us back into the fold of His family.

It is good to be reminded that He never promised us that we wouldn’t suffer…only that He would be suffering with us on our journey.

Leave a Reply

