March 11 & 12, 2017/Weakness

A Psalm Asking Forgiveness…

O Lord, forgive me for being weak.

Satan who tempts me often wins out.

I allow the world influence it does not deserve.

I put others and my own selfishness before You.

I fail to heed your instructions to fell my temptations.

Even when I acknowledge my sinful nature, I sometimes forget to ask your forgiveness, or I am ashamed to present them to You.

Yet, You know me.

Yet, You abide within me.

Help me to hear You even when You seem far off.

Allow me to see my human faults for what they are–a barrier to Your presence.

Show me Thy path.

Forgive me.

Cleanse me.

Humor me in my fraility as I begin another day…

MML 3/11/2017

I have always found myself more in tune with David and Peter than others in the Scripture. In fact, were it not for these two men, I’m not sure I could fully understand God.

David, who sinned so openly by committing adultry and instigating murder–yet he was forgiven. Peter who, like myself, often “opened mouth and inserted foot” and disavowed knowledge of Jesus.

Unlike others who seemed almost saintly in their exploits, here were two men who were fully ‘human’ in their history.

Faulted.

Stubborn.

Sinful.

Know-it-all’s.

Yet, with all their sinful faults, God pours out His love to them. He forgives them.

Psalm 51:1-7-Have mercy upon me, O God, according to thy lovingkindness: according unto the multitude of thy tender mercies blot out my transgressions. Wash me throughly from mine sin. For I acknowledge my transgressions: and my sin is ever before me. Against thee, thee only, have I sinned, and done this evil in thy sight: that thou mightest be justified when thou speakest, and be clear when thou judgest. Behold, I was shapen in inquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me. Behold, thou desirest truth in the inward parts: and in the hidden part thou shalt make me to know wisdom. Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

David’s psalm and plea here comes after Nathan confront him over his sin with Bathsheba. We see him penitent before God. He knows his greatest sin is to God. He understands that the ‘sin’ in his conception is the sin handed down from Adam and Eve. We are human rather than God-like…from our birth to our death. Yet, there is a part of us that longs to fully commune with God and are stymied by our very humanness.

We sin and may not even realize it.

We sin and do so deliberately.

We recognize and confess our sins.

We begin again thanks to Your patience.

God, we thank you for loving us so much. Were we You, we would not allow us to stand, let begin again.

Have mercy upon us, O God….

Leave a Reply

