March 16, 2017/Healthly Advice

I am not a fan of healthy eating.

In fact, I’m probably a poster child of what NOT to eat far more frequently than I would like.

I love sweets. Cakes, Cookies, Ice cream, CHOCOLATE, etc.

I’ve been like that ever since I can remember…and I have fought with weight problems since childhood. I’ve gained and lost so many pounds over the years that I can’t keep track.

Some of my health issues are of my own making–and I know that I will pay for my bad choices. I have tried to change these habits…but food is my vice of choice. I used to beat myself up over this. Now, I have accepted that I have this problem. I work on trying to choose more wisely but I forgive myself when I don’t.

I am, after all, human. No more, no less.

I am making an attempt, however, at trying to eat more wisely. Even if I make better choices a few times a day (maybe avoiding bread or carbs at ONE meal) or giving up evening snacking, I figure that I am doing better than if I allowed myself to give in and eat as usual.

Proverbs 3: 7-10-Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the Lord, and depart from evil. It shall be health to thy navel, and marrow to thy bones.

Solomon is telling us to remember that we are not always wise in our choices. Put God first and allow Him to work. Depart from what you know is evil. Doing so is good medicine. Allowing Him His position in your life assures you of remaining strong, with no ‘butterflies’ in your stomach as reminders that you aren’t doing what you know you are supposed to be doing!

Obviously, I won’t stay away from all sweets all the time. But, if I follow God’s wisdom and remember that He wants me healthy and, therefore, choose food with greater care, I will be happier and healthier in the long road…

 

Leave a Reply

