April 19, 2017/Weary but Able to Fly

Some days are routine.

Some are an adventure.

Somehow, we manage to deal with the reality of life–but we can find ourselves growing weary. Illness, emotion, tragedy, unexpected natural events, we slog through days where we all make plans–only to see them changed by circumstances beyond our control.

These are the days when we tend to feel weary. We DRAG ourselves through, often convinced that we are overcoming life on our on strength, but we are wrong…for God is our unseen companion seeing us through.

One of the ways Christians tend to support themselves is by memorizing Scripture. It is said that once you memorize a verse it never leaves you.

Obviously, whoever said that never met me. Oh, yes, there are some verses that remain imprinted on my memory like John 3:16, but many of those near and dear to my heart I STILL have to look up to this day…just to reassure myself I am quoting correctly, or remind myself of what book they are in, or even try to keep ‘fresh’ in my mind.

I am not a ‘visual’ learner. I don’t do well remembering things that I have heard, or even seen. I need to WRITE it down…usually, over and over before I truly ‘get it’. Even then, once I memorize something it does not necessarily ‘stay’ with me. I could ace the history test, but then it leaves..whereas, my husband retains the facts, battles, and even the reasonings behind events. (He also has a great sense of direction and can remember the route to take when we have taken it on a trip maybe once!)

I’ve concluded that while I may have difficulty in memorizing stuff, it is my talent at keeping things going. I’m the one who knows when the bills are due. I’m the one who organizes the day so we don’t run in circles; who plans the meals; who arranges to see to sending cards or buying presents that ‘fit’ the people we love, etc.

That can be tiring at times and Isaih reminds us when we are on the verge of giving in to dismay at the difficulties of life that we need not fear.

Isaiah 40:28-31-Hast thou not known? hast thou not heard, that the everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth, fainteth not, neither is weary? there is no searching of his understanding. He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength. Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall: But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

We shall have our strength renewed.

We shall get the kind of ‘second wind’ that an eagle finds when drifting and soaring upon the currents of the air above us.

We shall run when we have to, pumping our legs through trials that we cannot imagine–for God will give us the strength we need to do so at that time.

We shall walk through our everyday life that can appear littered with the boulders of pain, regret, sadness, despair, helplessness, and even hopelessness.

When God is with us, who can be against us? (I know that is in Scripture somewhere…..guess I’d better go look it up!)

Oh well, have a great GOD-WITH-YOU soaring flight kind of day….

PS: I looked it up. It’s Romans 8:31

Leave a Reply

