April 28, 2017/Hawking Merchandise

As if I didn’t get enough phone calls imploring me to buy windows, solar power, or some other type of services, I get numerous calls for charities. Most of these (sadly) are bogus. They work on your sympathy to get you to contribute something and very little of the money may go to the charity they pretend to support.

Then you have those who knock on my door.

Construction. Tree services. Painting services. Windows and Doors. I have even had people come claiming to have a good buy on meat that they ‘just happened’ to have in their refrigerated truck from an order someone cancelled. Once, men selling windows would not let it rest. They kept coming back and banging on my door after I had already politely told them I wasn’t interested.

I was alone at the time and it frightened me. (This was before cell phones could be used to take pictures quickly!) I finally informed them that I was contacting the police (and I did) and they took off!

I am SOOOOO ready to gather barbed wire, begin digging a moat, and order a few alligators. Seriously. It is annoying to have your home inundated with people that you didn’t invite or don’t know.

Perhaps, that is why I can feel for Jesus’ when He witnessed what was happening in the temple at Passover.

John 2: 13-16-And the Jews’ passover was at hand, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem. And found in the temple those that sold oxen and sheep and doves, and the changers of money sitting: And when he had made a scourge of small cords, he drove them all out of the temple, and the sheep, and the oxen; and poured out the changers’ money, and overthrew the tables. And said unto them that sold doves, Take these things hence; make not my Fahter’s house an house of merchandise.

This was no “Where’s the beef?” moment. At first glance from those who were there it was probably more of a, “What was is His beef?” After all, people needed to buy these animals to follow the laws of sacrifice as put down in the Old Testament. We know for a fact that Mary and Joseph had to sacrifice a pair of turtledoves or two young pigeons under the purification law of having a male child set down in the Old Testament. (See Luke 2: 23 & 24)

So what drew such ire from Jesus?

I believe it was the distinction between ‘selling’ and ‘hawking’. You can OFFER something for sale by displaying it and waiting until someone desires to buy it. HAWKING something, however, is far different. This is that endless ‘in-your-face’ type of behavior where you put money over manners.

This behavior had gone far over the boundaries of providing a service and deep into the ‘money, money, money’ territory. It must have really resonated with Christ as He is never more than aware when He is IN the temple (which was a place people came to be in God’s presence) that He would BE the Living Temple before too long.

Is it any wonder that He had had it?

He is about to be sacrificed before long and He isn’t doing it for money.

You have to wonder if He didn’t have a few moments of despair…the type of “Why am I doing this for these people, again?” doubts.

God’s patience is far greater than mine. I am glad that He hasn’t found barbed wire, moats, and alligators…even though I deserve them! As we journey onward through life, may we recognize the difference between offering the Good News versus hawking it.

Try not to get in someone’s face…no matter how good your intentions!

Leave a Reply

