May 8, 2017/Why Me, Lord?

Problems.

We all have them–whether they revolve around work, relationships, raising kids, transportation, housing, health, or whatever. Let’s face it, we have troubles….and that immediately makes me think of the hit musical THE MUSIC MAN that starred Robert Preston and his famous song, ‘Ya Got Trouble’ which informs those in Iowa–“Ya got trouble, folks, right here in River City. Trouble with a capital ‘T’ and that rhymes with ‘P’ and that stands for pool.”

When I began this journey, I hadn’t figured on writing something EVERY day. I mean, things come up. I do have a life. There are doctor appointments (many for those of our age), housework, cooking, errands, banking, etc. And don’t get my started on the sleep deprivation that comes with aging. I really, REALLY don’t enjoy getting up at 6am because my body is aching and I can’t lie in bed any longer. By 8pm I am becoming a zombie and by 10pm, it is all I can do to keep my eyes open..even after drinking regular coffee after dinner.

But, by far, the most challenging problem with writing these devotionals has been WHY ME, LORD?

This isn’t what I had planned to write. I write fiction…romance, mystery. Sure, I’ve sat in churches and Bible studies for many years, but a devotional blog? You’ve got to be kidding me!

It has been some time since I took my one Religion and Modern Man class in college. (I think I still have my paper from that class comparing the comic PEANUTS with Biblical study, though 😉 I mean, does that give you a clue to my philosphy?

It is intimidating for anyone to put your thoughts ‘out there’ when you feel others have more experience and insight. Most people do not take well to making themselves vulnerable to criticism. And, even when allowed to hide your identity as you can do on the internet, you still have the biggest critic of all to deal with–YOURSELF.

This verse from Galatians, however, reassured me.

Galatians 6:6- Let him that is taught in the word communicate unto him that teacheth in all good things.

I think of the Bible as a handbook for life…so when I read God’s word and apply it to MY problems, I am in hopes that in sharing I may help someone else who may be struggling with similar issues. During times of great trials, some of my most helpful advice has come from friends who have suffered or have expertise in what I am undergoing. Many of these people shared their experiences and advice with me and I was truly greatful.

I will never forget my mother’s last forty days of life. She went into the hospital on 12/12 and and came home to die forty days later on 1/22. It was her dearest wish to die at home…and, while not conscious, I am convinced that she knew that her final wish had been granted.

Now, if there is one profession that I have never fancied, it was medicine. I mean, I can’t even watch someone on television vomit because I’m in danger of joining in here at home. Yet, I have been a caregiver in one way or another since 1992. (Frankly, I will admit that I am a bit tired of God’s sense of humor in all this. Still, I try to keep my complaints down in case He’s listening and decides to come up with something even worse!)

There are days when I want to run screaming down the street yelling like that guy in the movie NETWORK…and my husband’s Parkinson’s problems are still rather mild. I worry about how I will cope as his disease advances. I worry about my strength. I worry about my own health.

It is during some of these times when God provided me just the people that I need to share my load. Nurses. Doctors. Friends. Even strangers. (I have actually visited people who I had never met but corresponded with on the internet.) People that drift into my ‘sphere’ who are just who I need, offering what I need, right when I need it. ‘God sent’ people. These people ‘communicate hope. They illustrate Christian love and caring. They reflect the face of Jesus by opening themselves through word and deed.

Writing these daily missives for me isn’t about popularity, ‘likes’, or followers. It’s about sharing my journey in hopes that someone else will find ‘good things’ to help them in theirs…

I hope you continue to follow my brief ‘musings’ that they are sometimes a help to you in your Christian walk…

Leave a Reply

