May 22, 2017/Withdraws

 

The bank tellers that I deal with probably think I’m crazy.

I am in and out of the bank withdrawing money from one account and putting it into another, all the time. You see, I am a squirrel when it comes to money. I try to save and budget with the future in mind. So, I put money in my savings account for a future purchase in hope that I can save enough in my checking account to cover it before I need to go get it out of my savings account. (Okay, it might not make sense to you, but it does to me!)

Sometimes, this works. Sometimes, it doesn’t. But I am always moving money back and forth. You see, I am an ANT not a GRASSHOPPER. While I know God will take care of me, I believe He is pretty much relying on me to have the brains not to sit back and not pay attention to my spending…which is why it takes a lot for me to go ‘shopping’ for no reason, or go buy coffee out! (The mark-up on drinks when eating out is incredible..which is you see so many elderly people drinking water. We’ve figured that out!) To pay $1.75 or MORE for a cup of coffee??? Maybe on vacation. Or for a special event. Or as a real treat. But every day? No way.

I am thrifty. I check prices. I clip coupons. I make copious lists for budgets, meal preparation, maintenance issues that can crop up. (It’s summer, need to budget for gas for lawnmower/winter need to budget for gas for snow blower).

When Jesus began this prayer, He wasn’t being thrifty with His words. He is praying out loud a very intercessionary prayer that encompassed His adoration of God, His thanks to God, and even a bit of His confession to God….but, in my opinion, I see most of all this prayer is a PROTECTION prayer.

John 17: 14-17-I have given them thy word; and the world hath hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. I pray not that thou shouldest take them out of the world, but that thou shouldest keep them from the evil. They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

Jesus is bent on reminding God that we are going to be in need of His protection. He has fulfilled the Father’s plan. He has spoken the words; provided the miracles; testified by His actions. He knows exactly how his upcoming crucifixion and resurrection will go down.

Jesus also knows firsthand about the world in which we live.

He must be pretty torn about this. He is, in fact, so torn, that He specifies to His Father that he isn’t asking that God call us OUT of this world to spare us, but that God  makes it a priority to keep us from evil…and He knows that can’t truly happen either as long as we are continuing to live  in this world.

It occured to me that while we have the TRINITY of God, the Father; God the Son; and the Holy Spirit, the Devil also has a threesome. Satan, the “I” angel thrown out of heaven; Satan’s fallen angels (who many describe as demons) followers who aid him; and the sinful enticements that Satan constantly uses us to attempt to vanquish our attempts to remain on a holy path.

Jesus knows it is three against three.

He also knows that God has the upper hand and will triumph…but right here and now…faced with His upcoming trial, the desertion of his disciples, physical torment from the beatings and crucifixion that are ahead, He is taking time to give us our key to surviving here on earth: THY WAY IS TRUTH.

Our protection is simple.

God’s way is truth.

Satan can try every trick in the book. In fact, he did when he set himself up to battle God to begin with.

Truth will overcome lies.

We are protected by the very real fact that once we accept Jesus Christ as Saviour, WE ARE NO LONGER OF THIS WORLD!

Oh, we may ‘live’ here. We have a physical presence on earth until we are called ‘home’ to heaven. But by accepting Christ and all that He stands for,  we are sanctified by God’s truth.

Our ‘withdrawl’ may be yet to come, but we live our days in the ‘saved’ bracket of a budget…and we have been given God’s truth preserved in the Bible to aid us as we are set upon by the evil one as we continue to walk here on earth…

We all fall prey to Satan’s attempts to ‘catch us up’ whenever we can….but Jesus calls us to stay true to God’s truth.

Thy word is truth. Jesus is reminding God that we are His…therefore, He is giving us the insight into God who has, in turn, given us the Scriptures to provide us with the truth which will protect us…

 

Leave a Reply

