May 27 & 28, 2017/Fools

When I wrote that I believed that the enemy was working to attack my writing the other day, I was immediately confronted by someone who contradicted me. That didn’t bother me so much as this individual’s comment that lauded our earthly enemy who fights against God (note, I refuse to name this entity today!) in no uncertain terms.

I wasn’t so much shocked, as sad. I consoled myself that perhaps this person had stumbled upon my site by what they would consider an ‘accident’ but what I would consider God’s leading.

I don’t expect much from the ‘unknown’ people who read my work. Nor, do I do this for any reason other than to ‘diary’ what God is teaching me in some small way. I have found great satisfaction in visiting some of the sites of others who have ‘liked’ something I have written. Some live far off and it amazes and comforts me that we are joined so easily by our common belief in Christ. It is interesting to see where others are in their life and, perhaps, in their walk with Jesus. We are like a close knit family who have been separated by circumstance, yet long to catch up on what is going on in our lives. The freedom to write from the heart but in anoymity is freeing and allows one to address some of the deeper joys and sorrows that they experience.

It is scary at times to witness the power of the internet…especially when you are endeavoring to be a witness for the Lord. At times, it does tie your hands on what you write. It would be easy to comment on politics or current events–but there are many writers to do that. What’s more, studying God’s word without the benefit of certain classes or an expertise garnered from years of study is also frightening. Yet, perhaps in this we can touch others who would never listen if they met you in person? In any case, I plod onward in hopes that I may not impede the progress of someone in knowing God, but draw them in so that they will consider reading the passages that have touched me to find what God would speak to them.

Because of the response by this unknown individual, I decided to simply end this week with the Psalm that God directed me to after this confrontation. David, one who loved music, witnessed great triumphs and tragedies in his life. As creator of many of the psalms, it is clear that he often relied on music to accompany his words in creating these prayers.

I love music. Always have. And so, it is probably no surprise that I have a large matted plaque that reads: “Bach gave us God’s word. Mozart gave us God’s laughter. Beethoven gave us God’s fire. God gave us Music so that we could pray without words.”

David used music AND words in this prayer of warning…

Psalm 53-The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. Corrupt are they, and have done abominable iniquity: there is none that doeth good. God looked down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there were any that did understand, that did seek God. Every one of them is gone back: they are altogether become filthy; there is none that doeth good, no, not one.
Have the workers of iniquity no knowledge? who eat up my people as they eat bread: they have not called upon God. There were they in great fear, where no fear was: for God hath scattered the bones of him that encampeth against thee: thou hast put them to shame, because God hath despised them. Oh that the salvation of Israel were come out of Zion! When God bringeth back the captivity of his people, Jacob shall rejoice, and Israel shall be glad.

There is little to be discussed in this Psalm other than to rejoice that those of us who are Christians KNOW that our salvation has come! It came through Jesus’ sacrificial death on the cross. It came for us. We are not longer in captivity to sin for the sinless Christ took upon Himself our atonement.

The enemy of God cannot win. His battle is lost–though he continues to try to thwart us at every level. He is as foolish as the one he praised whom God threw out of heaven.

Whoever responded to me the other day in praising  the entity of evil, I pray that you come to know the love and peace that God provides through Jesus Christ…

Leave a Reply

