June 10 & 11/Going Forward

My strength has been faltering lately. Each time that I face writing another post, I find myself wondering….why?

There are so many issues to deal with each day. The world has become so stressful that I have taken to avoiding as much news as I can. I gloss over headlines, refuse to watch ‘opinions’ pretending to be fact, and have even caught myself cynically peering at weather predictions with the attitude of: “Yeah, right. I may as well look out the window.”

My writing seems more a chore than a blessing. I have offered myself a way out many times in the last few days. “Well, I’ll just hold on until the end of June and congratulate myself on having done six months.” Or “I’ll post that I am facing problems and will simply be posting whenever the spirit moves me.”

I have even become frustrated in where God is guiding me. “So what am I supposed to write? Why ‘that’ verse? Why am I doing this again? Who is my audience and should I even care?”

And that is without going in to the many people who are encroaching on my time and spirit right now. “I’m barely able to take care of those I love. I can’t hold EVERYONE up.”

Despair hovers with a shout. JUST GIVE UP.

God, however, hears.

Galations 6-9&10-And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.

Paul knew what it was like to feel like giving up. He had physical problems. Jails must have seemed like home after awhile.

IF WE FAINT NOT.

Yep, Paul has it down here. Even Paul must have battled with the idea of ‘fainting’ to his purpose. Going forward when all you want to do is lie where you are sometimes seems impossible–yet God provides us with strength. Strength to face sorrows. Strength to push ourselves up to begin another day. Strength to carry on through pain. Strength from unexpected people and places.

Doing well. Sometimes, doing ANYTHING, can take every bit of courage we can muster. Paul is reminding us that he has been there. We hold one another up. Right when you believe there is no way you can walk another step, God sends someone to encourage.

There is a Canadian comedy series entitled: RED GREEN. It features a ‘do-it-yourselfer’ type guy whose outlook on life is skewed because he is intent on finding short-cuts when doing projects, and admits in his famous ‘Man Prayer’ that: “I’m a man, but I can change, if I have to, I guess.”

Sometimes, we yearn to take short-cuts in life. Paul gets the fact that we will be weary at times…that is why he reminds us to remember that in ‘due season’ we shall reap what we sow.

Hold on.

Go forward.

Call on another believer for help.

There is joy in the tomorrow that is coming for the believer.

Or as Red Green might say….”We’re all in this together…”

Leave a Reply

