July 14, 2017/How do you Start?

I hate having to decide what to have for breakfast.

I begun each morning taking a pill which requires the stomach be empty. After a half hour to an hour, I have to make ‘the’ decision. What should I have for breakfast?

I have never been a big breakfast lover. I dislike cereal. I’m not big on pancakes or waffles unless it is really cold outside. Still, I know the body requires protein after the long night so I have to choose something.

Lately, I grab a scoop of cottage cheese, mix in a tablespoon of yogurt and then add some toasted slivered almonds and maybe a few blueberries or dried cranberries. Then I savor my first cup of coffee. That tends to keep me going for a bit. After that, I may grab some toast–or not. Or I may grab a protein bar with coffee.

I force myself to do this. I don’t really enjoy it. I know, however, that my health will be better for having breakfast than if I eat nothing and then stuff myself at lunch. For some reason, eating breakfast in the morning tends to keep me from overeating later.

David realized that he needed to begin his day with God. Doing so would sustain him. Beginning the day with prayer allows us to give thanks to the God who has seen us through the night.

Psalm 5: 1-3- Give ear to my words, O Lord, consider my meditation. Hearken unto the voice of my cry, my King, and my God: for unto thee will I pray. My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O Lord; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

I will look up. Consider my meditation.

We can pray any time of the day…and should do so. When we pray in the morning as we awake, however, we have time to simply give thanks and look up. Here is where we don’t ‘ask’ but simply ‘thank’ God for being who He is. Before the day begins to rattle us with difficulties, we can give praise.

Consider beginning your day by ‘looking up’. Even a brief prayer of thanksgiving may help you start your day brighter.

Leave a Reply

