June 20, 2017/Cracked

Okay, I’m old, old-fashioned, and admit that I am easily shocked. I know it has been around for some time and another fashion will take its place, but I have NO wish to see some man’s ‘crack’ butt sticking out from his pants. (And I don’t want to see any woman’s thong crack, either.

There are some things that should be personal.

When I was younger, the only crack we worried about was the one on the sidewalk..and then we were busy stepping over it so we didn’t ‘break our mother’s backs’ as the saying went.

There are other ‘cracks’ you deal with as you age. The crack of bad hips and knees. The saying: “That cracks me up,” meaning laughter. The one that goes: “I’m cracking up,” which means you are losing your marbles (if you ever had them…)

But today I’m reminded of an old saying that my friend’s mother used to use. (I made her repeat it so I could write it down as otherwise, I might not remember.

Her saying goes like this: “Friendship’s like a teacup, costly rich and rare.
Once broken may be mended by the crack is always there.”

It’s true.

It is difficult to mend broken relationships. Much as you may want to forget a hurt completely, it is very difficult to do so. Yet, God clears our slate COMPLETELY.

1 John 1: 8-10-8 If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.

We are vessels that easily ‘crack’ through sin. Repair, however, is simply a matter of confessing what led to the cracks and asking God to forgive us as Jesus taught. Amazingly, Jesus declares that once we are repaired, God will never ‘see’ that crack again.

That does not mean that we don’t bear accountability or responsibility for whatever sins we may have committed–that is OUR burden to fix. But God erases whatever cracks we may have when we seek true repentance.

I have a new saying: “Human are like china, sin always makes us err. Jesus offers God’s repentance, with just a simple prayer.

Leave a Reply

