June 21, 2017/Painful Changes

 

I think my body hates me.

Seriously.

In a short time I will enter the ‘golden’ years of Medicare…or is that the ‘rusty’ years? Such changes come with age. Your social life becomes tales of doctors you see and the people you meet in their waiting rooms. Your eyes grow spots and cataracts. Your belly grows on its own. Your bathroom habits start to become as important as they were when you were a toddler. And the pain…Oh, the pains that suddenly spring out of nowhere.

When I was young, my husband often tried to stay past my curfew. We had a step-down living room with a huge grandfather clock right near the two stairs. Anyone walking into the living room caused that clock to shake just enough to rattle the large weights. Now, I was living home and attending college and my parents had their bedroom down the hall with a closed hall door…(talk about trust here!), but there was many a night when my husband tried to sneak past that clock so as not to reveal that he had overstayed my curfew.

I look back on that time with great fondness. We may have thought we were getting away with something but that clock gave us away EVERY time.

So it is with our walk with God. Job gives us a great example here.

Job 14: 14-22- If a man die, shall he live again? all the days of my appointed time will I wait, till my change come. Thou shalt call, and I will answer thee: thou wilt have a desire to the work of thine hands. For now thou numberest my steps: dost thou not watch over my sin? My transgression is sealed up in a bag, and thou sewest up mine iniquity. And surely the mountain falling cometh to nought, and the rock is removed out of his place. The waters wear the stones: thou washest away the things which grow out of the dust of the earth; and thou destroyest the hope of man. Thou prevailest for ever against him, and he passeth: thou changest his countenance, and sendest him away. His sons come to honour, and he knoweth it not; and they are brought low, but he perceiveth it not of them. But his flesh upon him shall have pain, and his soul within him shall mourn.

No matter what we may believe we can escape while alive, death comes to us all.

One day God will call. Until that day, we are prone to dealing with the sorrow, pain, and sin of normal life. Many walk on knowing that we are being ‘worn down’ stones with no hope. It is the way of the human…until we find Christ.

Suddenly, there is an open door that allows us the grace to endure pain for we understand that it is temporary. Jesus tells us that in John 14:2-In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.

Pain is not fun. It isn’t pretty. It sucks you dry. Those that endure it, suffer. Those that witness loved ones undergoing pain, suffer.

It does, however, come to us all–much like aging.

Christians, however, have the answer to Job’s question: If a man die, shall he live again?

The answer is Yes–for whosoever believeth in Jesus Christ shall not perish but have  everlasting life with Him in Heaven where we will be free from the bonds of sin that were the cause of our pain.

Leave a Reply

