July 3, 2017/Is Anybody There?

Is Anybody There? Does Anybody Care?

Quite often I suspect that people online begin to wonder if they serve a purpose when writing. Quite a few people who have checked out my few entries are writers–whether paid or unpaid. Some are scholars. Some are young. Some are older. All, however, seem to have one thing in common–they are thirsting to share something.

Humans seek.

It is in our nature. We “Go West’, young man,” as the saying goes. We take flight. We begin at the beginning. We yearn to exchange ideas, debate, confront, discuss, argue, celebrate, and ‘touch’ each other in some way. We secretly crave to be remembered; to ‘make our mark’.

What we fail to remember is that we have already MADE our mark. God has allowed us to have done so by giving us our very existence.
Psalm 139: 1-10-O lord, thou hast searched me, and known me. Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O Lord, thou knowest it altogether. Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it. Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea. Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.

Perhaps, it is fitting that I began thinking about this before Independence Day here in the USA/

One of my favorite movies is ‘1776’. I LOVE the way William Daniels plays the character of John Adams. I love the very real feeling of simple men trying to come to a consensus to bring about the birth of a nation. Most of all, I love the songs that Sherman created.

One song in particular still resonates. It is the song that those who celebrate July 4th should study and memorize.

Is Anybody There? copyright By Sherman Edwards
Adams:
Is anybody there?
Does anybody care?
Does anybody see what I see?

They want to me to quit; they say
John, give up the fight
Still to England I say
Good night, forever, good night!
For I have crossed the Rubicon
Let the bridge be burned behind me
Come what may, come what may

Commitment!

The croakers all say we’ll rue the day
There’ll be hell to pay in fiery purgatory
Through all the gloom, through all the gloom
I see the rays of ravishing light and glory!

Is anybody there? Does anybody care?
Does anybody see what I see?

I see fireworks! I see the pagaent and
Pomp and parade
I hear the bells ringing out
I hear the cannons roar
I see Americans – all Americans
Free forever more

How quiet, how quiet the chamber is
How silent, how silent the chamber is

Is anybody there? Does anybody care?
Does anybody see what I see?

Which brings me to my point, do you ‘see’ commitment? Do you ‘have’ commitment?

Humans have goals and plans. We here in the U.S.A. conceived the idea of a form of government that we have in place as a democratic republic. We were birthed with such idealism. Humans tend to enjoy the concept of an utopian ideal–we simply don’t want to admit that it is beyond our ability.

Why?

Because like the sign I read outside the church the other day stated: “We’d do well to stop putting question marks where God put periods.”

Far too often, humans believe it is our ‘right’ to question the laws and ideals that God has put into place–as if WE have better answers.

Well, we don’t.

And one of the reasons we don’t is that a lot of humans refuse to believe in SIN. It is just that simple…and sin divides us from God. People don’t want to believe in sin because we’d prefer to believe in the utopian idea that we are all ‘winners’; that we will have ‘peace’ in our time; that humans will evolve and have all the answers; that life should be fair, equal, and just.

Great sentiments–not going to happen.

Without the loving sacrifice of God’s Son, Jesus Christ, who selflessly gave His blood for our sins, humans would be divided from God forever. Thankfully, God provided a way back to Him for us through His son. What’s more, He has guaranteed that those who believe in such grace will have eventually see that ‘utopian’ perfect existence humanity wants to believe in come to pass IF they so choose.

But it is THEIR/YOUR choice.

God gave us free will for a reason. We may choose to reside with Him eventually by taking the path He designed…or not.

Your life.

Your choice.

Revelation 21: 1-8-And I saw a new heaven and a new earth: for the first heaven and the first earth were passed away; and there was no more sea. And I John saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a great voice out of heaven saying, Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and he will dwell with them, and they shall be his people, and God himself shall be with them, and be their God. And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.
And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new. And he said unto me, Write: for these words are true and faithful. And he said unto me, It is done. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give unto him that is athirst of the fountain of the water of life freely. He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son. But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.

Humans have our monarchies, our republics, our dictatorships, and even our democracies–to name a few types of governments here on earth. As people, we have our goals and plans.

We would be wise, however, to remember that God also has His.

I enjoy 1776 as much now as I did when I first saw it. I can quote various dialogue. I can applaud the freedoms which we are lucky enough to retain. But, I can also understand that there IS someone ‘there’.

God is there. God cares. God sees what we see…and He has a future that wins out over ANYTHING we humans can conceive of or create.

Tomorrow, while we celebrate the formation of the best form of ‘human’ government going so far, we would do well to remember the best form of government EVER that was that instituted by God!

So which will you choose? Have you made your choice? Do you follow men? Or God?

Does anybody see what I see……….?

Leave a Reply

