July 7, 2017/A Little Bit Me & A Little Bit You

Okay, I admit it. I was a Monkees fan. Davy, Peter, Mike, Mickey…I loved them all. Oh, I know it was ‘bubblegum’ music and they were brought together as a group and didn’t have a lot of musical knowledge…but they made me laugh, and smile, and feel happy.

One of their songs was “It’s a Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You.”

I think back to this and remember my time in high school. Things were different then. Living in a small suburb, our high school wasn’t exactly a bed of protests or a ‘hip’ environment. Back in 1966, I was a ‘Believer’ as the song went.

I was also about as innocent as they come. I mean, I said, “Boob” to a favorite teacher and couldn’t figure out why he was giving me a lecture! To me, a person was a person, and a friend a friend. I didn’t understand why my having a best friend of another skin color was a big deal.

I still don’t.

Maybe it all boils down to my parents.

In our small town, almost everyone back then was Protestant. Yet, my dad’s best friend was Catholic. They were life-long friends…and I never heard any instance where their difference in religion made a difference in their relationship.

My mother had lived in New York City. This was a BIG DEAL in our town. I mean, mom couldn’t sleep because it was “too quiet” with no buses or sounds! She’d had all kinds of friends from all kinds of lands. I still have a favorite recipe for Armenian string beans…(and it is yummy hot or cold!!) She introduced me to curry with condiments like coconut and chutney. Later, one of her close friends in the next town was from Costa Rica.

The Christian religion is clear about how we should view those who are different than we are.

Galations 3: 26-29-For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus. For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus. And if ye be Christ’s, then are ye Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise. 

Once you have ‘PUT ON” Christ, there is no longer room for prejudice of any kind. We all become ONE in Jesus Christ. We no longer have ‘nation’ boundaries, cultural boundaries, or even denominational boundaries. We are CHRISTIANS–first and foremost.

It is my dearest wish that someday my granddaughters marry honorable Christian men who will love them, value them, and honor them. What they look like shouldn’t matter. It is who they are, what they believe, how they behave toward others, and where they are with God that is truly of importance.

It is a shame to see innocence so trampled. It is sad to see how men and women disvalue themselves in appearance and behavior. They may have the ‘right’ but that doesn’t make it ‘right.’

The world is changing. Some changes are good. But all changes should be viewed by Christians through the wisdom of Scripture. Warnings, laws, parables, history…they are there to teach us wisdom.

We would be wise to take that into consideration as we wrestle with our difficulties as a society.

Leave a Reply

