July 21, 2017/ Presence

The English language is not easy for those who come to use it as a second language. You have ‘presents’ and ‘presence’. They both sound the same but have completely different meanings.

Yet, when writing that today I realized that God sometimes uses something as simple as that sentence to make me look at a verse differently.

Psalm 23:5-Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Suppose we were to rewrite David’s thought here. Thou prepares a table before me in the PRESENTS of mine enemies: thou anointed my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

We all know enemies rarely give you a present. David, however, is making it clear that God has prepared a table that is filled. This filled table is a sign to his enemy–My God provides for me. Not only provides, but FILLS me with more than I need. He anoints my head with oil…so much oil that it runs over me.

The anointing of oil has many references in the Bible, but the basic symbolism is that oil is used to make something ‘set apart’, or ‘sacred’. Our Messiah is basically our ‘anointed’ one of God.

Jesus proclaims this in Luke 4:18-The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised.

He is quoting the prophet Isaiah who was speaking of His coming in the Old Testament. Isaiah 61:1-The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me; because the Lord hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound;

Oil lamps, or menorahs, were an important part of life in Biblical times, as was the fragrant oils which were used by the priests in the Temple When those priests made offerings unto God.

David is overwhelmed by God’s goodness.

Think today about God and His goodness unto you. He vanquishes unseen enemies in our lives daily. He is our protector yet also cares enough for the little things that we face that he OVERSUPPLIES our tables. We are FULL of His mercy and goodness.

Leave a Reply

